Themes and sessions

The MatchPoints Seminar 2020 will offer a wide range of keynote lectures and panel debates by speakers of the highest prominence. These include, among others, columnist, historian and Professor Anne Applebaum, Professor Astrid Erll, Professor Ole Wæver and leading German and Danish politicians and government officials. The seminar wishes to encourage interdisciplinary research and dialogue and invites researchers from across the humanities, political and social science, economics and law. The paper sessions of the seminar will be organised around the following four themes:

State, nation, nationalism and borders in the Danish-German relationship 1820-2020

  • Border Issues prior to and after 1871
  • German-Nordic Relations and the Re-making of the European Order after 1919
  • The German Model and its Role in the European Economic Space after 1945
  • Germany, Denmark and the New Geopolitical Turn in European Politics

Danish-German-European cultural change and exchange

  • Critical Theory and the Legacies of 1968
  • Memory Culture
  • Media and Identity
  • Movement and Migration

Green Growth and European Economic Integration (still in planning)

  • Is Green Growth an Answer to Climate Change (1)?
  • Is Green Growth an Answer to Climate Change (2)?
  • Is there (still) a German Economic model for Europe?
  • Old and New Economic Borders in Europe

Together in the EU: the future of the European Union

  • Populism and Euroscepticism
  • Migration: Social and Political Challenges
  • European Security
  • European Cohesion

Confirmed speakers:

  • Columnist, historian and Professor Anne Applebaum, London School of Economics
  • Professor Astrid Erll, Goethe University Frankfurt
  • Professor Harold Marcuse, UC Santa Barbara.
  • Professor Ole Wæver, University of Copenhagen
  • Professor Elizabeth Buettner, Amsterdam University
  • Professor Steen Bo Frandsen, University of Southern Denmark
  • Associate Professor Morten Rasmussen, University of Copenhagen
  • Associate Professor Jes Fabricius Møller, University of Copenhagen
  • Associate Professor Hagen Schulz-Forberg, Aarhus University
  • Associate Professsor Martin Bak Jørgensen, Aalborg University
  • Associate Professor Michael Jonas, Hamborg University
  • Associate Professor Eike Thielemann, London School of Economics
  • Senior Lecturer Dagmar Brunow, Linnæus University
  • Senior Lecturer Michael Jonas, Helmut Schmidt University, Hamburg
  • Professor Christian Martin, New York University/Kiel University
  • Professor Florian Trauner, Institute for European Studies (IES) at the Vrije Universiteit Brussels
  • Professor Kai Gehring, Zürich University
  • Professor Emmanuel Mourlon-Druol, Glasgow University
  • Director Hosea Dutschke, Aarhus Muncipality
  • Program Director Jana Puglierin, German Council for Foreign Relations
  • Secretary General Jeppe Tranholm-Mikkelsen, Council of the European Union
  • Researcher Christine Nissen, Danish Institute of International Studies. 
  • Postdoc Tobias Wung Sung, University of Southern Denmark
  • Postdoc Malte Frøslee Ibsen, University of Copenhagen