Keynote speakers

Washington Post columnist and Pulitzer-Prize winning historian Anne Applebaum

Anne Applebaum (born July 25, 1964) is a columnist for the Washington Post and a Pulitzer-prize winning historian. She is also a Professor of Practice at the London School of Economics and co-directs the LSE Arena, a program on disinformation and 21st century propaganda. She has written extensively about the Soviet Union, the collapse of communism and the development of civil society in Central and Eastern Europe.

Anne Applebaum has written a number of award-winning and widely translated books. Her newest book, Red Famine: Stalin’s War on Ukraine was published in October 2017, and received the Lionel Gelber Prize in 2018. She is a columnist for the Washington Post and her writing have also appeared in The Atlantic,  The New Yorker, The Wall Street Journal, the New York Times, the Financial Times, the International Herald Tribune, Foreign Affairs, , The Independent, The Guardian, Prospect, Commentaire, Die Welt, Cicero, Gazeta Wyborcza as well as in several anthologies

Besides her many book prices, Anne Applebaum has received the Estonian Order of the Cross of Terra Mariana third class, the Lithuanian Millenium Star and Petőfi Prize all in recognizing of her efforts made to advance freedom and democracy of Eastern European nations.


Professor Dr. Astrid Erll

Astrid Erll is professor of Anglophone Literatures and Cultures at Goethe-University Frankfurt and founder of the transdisciplinary forum Frankfurt Memory Studies Platform. She is known for her comprehensive work on cultural memory and has developed narratological, transcultural, and media theory approaches for the field of memory studies. Currently Astrid Erll is working on the research project “Odyssean Travels: A Literary History of Cultural Memory“, about the reception of Homer as cultural memory.

Astrid Erll has published articles in leading international journals such as Journal of Aesthetics & Culture and Memory Studies. She has also written a number of books as well as contributed to anthologies about media theory, transcultural studies, comparative literature, cultural theory and of course cultural memory.

Astrid Erll has received the Justus Liebig University Dissertation Prize for the best dissertation in the School of Language, Culture and Literature in the academic year 2002/2003. In 2005 she received the Justus Liebig University Award for Excellence in Post-doctoral Research and in 2008 the University of Wuppertal award for Excellence in Teaching.


Professor Ole Wæver

Ole Wæver (born September 17, 1960) is s a professor of International Relations at the Department of Political Science, University of Copenhagen, and founder of the research centers CAST (Centre for Advanced Security Theory) and CRIC (Centre for Resolution of International Conflicts). Within the field of international politics, he is known for his security theoretical concept of 'securitization' and for his work on security politics, international relations and conflict solution. In his recent writings in relation to securitization theory Ole Wæver have applied the theory 'securitization' to religion and climate change. Hereby contributing to a revitalization of the field of conflict studies. 

Ole Wæver has published articles in leading international journals such as Ethics & International Affairs and Journal of Peace Research and written and edited about 25 books. Many of which has been translated into several languages.

Ole Wæver was elected to the Royal Danish Academy of Sciences and Letters in 2007; and he was the 2012 humanities/social science recipient of the research prize of the Carlsberg foundation. He became Knight of the Order of the Dannebrog in 2014, was the first recipient of the Hesbjerg Foundation Peace Prize in 2015; and received an honorary doctorate from University of Turku in 2015.


Professor, Ph.D. and President of DIW Berlin Research Marcel Fratzscher

Photo: DIW Berlin/B. Dietl

Marcel Fratzscher is an economist, author and columnist on economic and social issues. He is President of the German Institute for Economic Research (DIW Berlin) - one of Europe’s leading independent research institutes and think tanks - and Professor of Macroeconomics at Humboldt-University Berlin. He is member of the High-level Advisory Board of the United Nations on the sustainable development goals (SDGs), Member of the German-French Council of Economic Experts of the German and French Government, Associate Editor of the Journal of International Economics, member of the scientific advisory board of the German Ministry of the Economy and member of the supervisory board of Hertie School of Governance. He engages for the equality of opportunity for disadvantaged children as member of various boards for Kreuzberger Kinderstiftung, Deutschland Rundet Auf and Welthungerhilfe. His work focuses on macroeconomics, inequality and European integration. He has published three books in German and English since 2014, has a bi-weekly column in Zeit Online (in German) and regularly contributes op-eds in the German and international media, including the Financial Times, Wall Street Journal and Project Syndicate. He is one of Germany’s best-published economists and has received several awards for his academic and policy work. He is a European and German citizen.